It’s Been a Long Time Since I Rock ‘n Rolled

Last night I decided to catch up on reading some articles I had printed some time ago. I read about five of them, and here I lay some comments:

David McD’s Tower Siege, I bet it’s going to be the next translated design to show up here. As for now I can only say it’s a really nice design, and even though I haven’t tried it yet I do smell some fun in it.

Student Postmortem: Cowboy Cave. Wow. What a really nice design, all I can say is that I felt really bad to know, at the end of the article, that the game hasn’t been developed. I hope that the team manages a way into it! 🙂

Scope: A Lesson In Game Design is that kind of article that, if you replace “game design” with “software development”, or even with “personal project” it will still be true. This piece is a succinct text, almost an x-ray of how bad you can go if you don’t think of the scope, along all the way.

Oh, and I would like to say that I’ve begun developing a simple Java engine to implement the Lights Out! game design. I think that the first prototype (or should I call it Proof of Concept?) isn’t far away. Let’s see what next week will bring upon us. 😉

Leave a Reply

