Game Maker

Am I dumb or what? Yesterday I felt really dumb. Really dumb. And I’ll tell you why.

Ever since I had joined this huge world of game development I have been longing for creating my own games. The only problem is that I’m no longer an avid programmer, eager to spend my late-nights coding, solving the same problems I have already solved through my career. It’s true that I want challenges, new ones, but sometimes I don’t feel like I have the guts to go through the beggining stage. Yeah, I know. Call me anxious.

The point is, I want to create, to design games, to design levels, to care about the game balancing, to test the game and to generate input for tunning. That’s what I want to do. But as Mrs. Brathwaite have said, Game Designers need to code nowadays. In my case, I nede to code on some industry-spoken coding language (C/C++, Python, Lua, ActionScript, etc), but I have been lacking the time, and to be honest, the patience to learn any of these languages.

So, what really happened yesterday was that I decided to participate on the last Lost Garden’s Prototyping Challenge: Shade. At the first try I took Danc’s suggestion and went on to study XNA. I even found a nice tutorial about it, in portuguese. But when I glanced the required tools it felt just too much, and I remebered that a friend of mine have been developing for Blender, using its Game Engine, and said it was a nice tool. So I gave it a try, but upon opening the tool I found myself lost. Its interface isn’t as user-friendly as Google SketchUp (which I had already tried and was able to actually create something), and when I went on searching for tutorials I could only find game-dev ones which required me knowing the basics, but the problem was that the ones to learn the basics were longer than what I expected. Thus I felt really frustrated. I knew that I wouldn’t have enough time to study that, to achieve a good enough level that would allow me to go over the game-dev tutorials.

It was then that I was struck by a lighting of reasoning. “Hey, dumb-ass” said the voice. “What happened to that Game Maker you had downloaded some months ago, and never installed? Maybe you should give it a try, you lazy bastard”. And so I did. Aided by the Google Desktop Search I was able to find and install the software, which led me downloading the “Your First Game” and the “3-Dimensional Games” tutorials. I read the first one and then I was really sure about one thing, I was a lazy-dumb-ass bastard.

The GM is exactly what I was looking for! An excellent tool for prototyping, and even creating nice games (I checked out). I know that it’s not an industry standard, but hey, maybe when I do complete some game prototypes I will be motivated enough for trying. That’s what I’m counting on, at least. 🙂

Leave a Reply

