Essa Foi Inusitada [That One Was Unexpected]

Hoje eu li a entrevista do GameCareerGuide com Tara Teich, desenvolvedora da Lucas Arts. Apesar de quase sempre aparecer algum artigo sobre a presença das mulheres na indústria de desenvolvimento de jogos que muitas vezes só repete informações conhecidas esta entrevista foi bastante informativa. Além de abordar os temas clichés de leve também são apresentadas informações interessantes sobre o trabalho de um engenheiro de IA (inteligência artificial) — que por sinal me interessou muito, quem sabe num futuro próximo?

Mas a parte inesperada mesmo foi o relato de quando ela conseguiu o primeiro emprego.

Acho que eu realmente agarrei o emprego quando todos nós jogamos uma partida de Starcraft e eu levei o meu time à vitória contra o meu futuro chefe.

Eu não pude deixar de pensar em qual jogo eu desafiaria um futuro chefe… mas ainda não escolhi um. Qual você escolheria? 🙂

[English text follows]

Today I read the GameCareerGuide’s interview with Tara Teich, Lucas Arts programmer. Although it’s not seldom to find some new article on the women’s presence on today’s industry, most of them lack to shed some new light into the subject, always going into the same issues and widely-known information, this interview was quite amusing and brought some nice new info for me. Despite presenting a bit of more-of-the-same subject the piece also presents some nice information on her job, AI engineer — which lit up some sparkles on my eyes.

But the really unexpected part was when she talked about how she got her first job.

I think I clinched the job when we all played a round of Starcraft and I managed to lead my team to victory against my soon-to-be boss.

I couldn’t help but think about on what game I would challange a soon-to-be boss… but I couldn’t pick one yet. Which one would you pick? 🙂

Leave a Reply

